Vorige maandVolgende maandJanuary 2014
Tu We Th Fr Sa Su Mo
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

Jury debate and award ceremonies Rotterdam Design Prize 2013

January 31 2014

 The jury debate is fully booked. You are welcome at the award ceremonies.

The winners of the 2013 Rotterdam Design Prize and the Rotterdam Design Public Prize, sponsored by The New Institute, will be announced on Friday 31 January. Prior to the presentation of the prizes, the members of the international jury will discuss the nominees. The debate will be moderated by Lucas Verweij. The jury members are Edwin Heathcote, architecture and design critic for the Financial Times; Caroline Baumann, director of the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum in New York; and Virginia Tassinari, Assistant Professor of Social Spaces at the Media, Arts and Design (MAD) Faculty in Genk and member of the international DESIS Network. The chairman is design critic, Max Bruinsma.

3:30-4:30 pm: jury debate led by Lucas Verwey and announcement of the student essay contest winner (entry from 3:00 pm)
5:00 pm: Award ceremonies, with the €500 Rotterdam Design Public Prize presented by Guus Beumer (Het Nieuwe Instituut) and the €15.000 Rotterdam Design Price 2013 presented by Barbera Wolfensberger, CEO of advertising agency FHV BBDO and chair of the Dutch Government’s Topsector Creatieve Industrie.

Date: Friday 31 January
Entry: free
Reservations: the jury debate is fully booked. You are welcome at the Award ceremonies.
The debate will be held in English

*The international jury has been invited as part of the international visitors’ programme of The New Institute, which is made possible with the support of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.