Vorige maandVolgende maandNovember 2013
Tu We Th Fr Sa Su Mo
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    

Rotterdam Design Prize 2013

from November 16 2013 until February 9 2014

Parra, Weirded Out. Parra (Piet Janssen), Weirded Out, 2012, paint on wall, 144 in. x 720 in., Collection SFMOMA, Gift of the artist; ©Parra Moooi and Erwin Olaf, The Unexpected Welcome, Milaan 2013. Art Photography by: Erwin Olaf / Images by Peer Lindgreen: for Moooi, www.moooi.com Reframing Studio and Parnassia Groep, Temstem. Photo: Reframing studio  PAL-V Europe NV and Spark design & innovation, PAL-V. Photo: PAL-V Euope NV  Massoud Hassani, Mine Kafon. Photo: Mine Kafon Winde Rienstra, Lego Heels. Photo: Peter Stigter Anouk Wipprecht, Interactieve Couture. Photo: Anouk Wipprecht  Afdeling Buitengewone Zaken, Hidden Design. Photo: Lisa Klappe  Game Oven, Fingle. Photo: Game Oven 2012.  Bas van Abel, Fairphone. Februaryi 2011. Fairphone Lernert & Sander, Handmade. Photo: Lernert & Sander Lernert & Sander, Everything. Photo Lernert & Sander Edenspiekermann, ProRail, STBY and NS Travelers, Dynamic boarding information at train platforms. Photo: Edenspiekermann Daan Roosegaarde, Crystal. Photo: Studio Roosegaarde Marga Weimans, Body Archive. Photo: Peter Stigter Studio Dunbar, Alzheimer Nederland. Photo: Pieter Claessen

Who will win the 2013 Rotterdam Design prize? Fifteen nominees are in line for the €15,000 prize, which will be awarded for a project, product or research that has set an example for the design world in the last two years. The nominees were proposed by five scouts and are very different: from PAL-V, the first flying car, and an app that ‘tames’ voices to the latest presentation by Moooi and Erwin Olaf in the Salone del Mobile.

Will you vote?

The Rotterdam Design Prize, a biennial award, will be presented by an international panel of judges on Friday 31 January 2014. The Rotterdam Design Public Prize of €5,000 will be awarded at the same time. This prize is provided by Het Nieuwe Instituut. The nominee with the most votes wins. Members of the public can use a ballot paper at the exhibition or vote online.


A presentation in Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and a series of broadcasts of AVRO’s Kunstuur give an overview of important developments in Dutch design. The 2013 Rotterdam Design Prize’s scouts are Ineke Hans, Caroline Hummels, Niki Smit, Carlo Wijnands and the winners of the 2011 Rotterdam Design Prize Erik and Ronald Rietveld. They chose three of the most relevant, appealing and innovative designs of the last two years.

Public Prize

As soon as the nominations are announced on 16 November everyone will be able to cast their vote for the Rotterdam Design Public Prize at the exhibition and online. The nomination with the most votes will win €5,000. Students from various design schools in the Netherlands will be at the exhibition to explain the designs.

Prize Giving

An international panel of judges will choose the winner of the Rotterdam Design Prize on 31 January and the Rotterdam Design Public Prize will be awarded on the same day. The exhibition will remain open until Sunday 9 February. The Rotterdam Design Prize is being organized by the Stichting Designprijs Rotterdam, Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and Het Nieuwe Instituut.