Nominees Rotterdam Design Prize 2009

This afternoon, the Rotterdam Design Prize 2009 nominees were announced by Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor of Rotterdam, and Peter van Ingen, chairman of the nomination committee. Simultaneously the exhibition was opened at Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Until 10 January 2010 the museum showcases projects and the design motivation of the ten leading designers or clients of the past two years.

Rotterdam Design Prize 2009 nominees:
Atelier NL and Maarten Kolk
Christien Meindertsma
Damen Shipyards T&W Designteam
Jair Straschnow & Gitte Nygaard
Koninklijke Tichelaar Makkum
studio Joost Grootens
Studio Makkink & Bey
Studio Wieki Somers

National prize
The Rotterdam Design Prize is a biennial national prize which concentrates on the shared qualities of Dutch design and intensifies the design debate. Since the previous competition the focus has shifted from the autonomous product to the vision of the designer.

Prize-giving and symposium
The winner of the Rotterdam Design Prize 2009 will be chosen by an international panel of judges during the exhibition and will be awarded €15,000 to spend as they wish. The judges are Alice Rawsthorn (journalist with the International Herald Tribune and design critic, UK), Rick Poynor (writer and design critic, UK) and Patrizia Moroso (artistic director of Moroso, IT).

Prior to the prize-giving on 29 November, the Rotterdam Design Prize Foundation in association with Premsela – Dutch Platform for Design and Fashion will be staging a symposium on the current position of Dutch design seen from an international perspective. A number of renowned guest speakers from other countries will be sharing their views on the progressive nature of cutting-edge Dutch design. For more information go to

Vote for public prize
This year a public prize will be awarded in addition to the regular prize. Visitors can vote for it on the website and at the exhibition. The nominees, their work and their vision will be presented in a series of video portraits made by Hans Wessels. The series can be seen on the website and visitors can leave their vote and reactions.

For more information about previous Rotterdam Design Prize competitions: The 2009 Rotterdam Design Prize is an initiative of the Designprijs Rotterdam Foundation and is generously supported by Rotterdam City Council Art and Culture Department, the Stichting Bevordering van Volkskracht and the Stokroos Foundation. The public voting is supported by Narb, people filtered art. The exhibition is part of the official programme of Holland Art Cities 2009-2010.