Rotterdam Design Prize 2009

19 September 2009 – 10 January 2010

This autumn Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen will be showing the most trend-setting creative visions in Dutch design of the past two years. Ten entries will be selected from more than 160 submissions by various designers, agencies, clients and intermediaries. They will be announced by the Mayor of Rotterdam, Ahmed Aboutaleb, and the chairman of the nomination committee, Peter van Ingen during the opening on 19 September 2009.

The Rotterdam Design Prize 2009 showcases projects and the design motivation of the ten leading designers or clients of the past two years. The exhibition reveals the current social and cultural developments that have influenced Dutch design and the notable products that have stemmed from them.

National prize
The Rotterdam Design Prize is a biennial national prize which concentrates on the shared qualities of Dutch design and intensifies the design debate. Since the previous competition the focus has shifted from the autonomous product to the vision of the designer.

International panel of judges
The winner of the Rotterdam Design Prize 2009 will be chosen by an international panel of judges during the exhibition and will be awarded €15,000 to spend as they wish. The judges are Alice Rawsthorn (design critic of the International Herald Tribune, London), Rick Poynor (design writer, London) and Patrizia Moroso (artistic director of Moroso, Italy).

Programme for the opening on Saturday 19 September
1.00 p.m.
welcome by director Sjarel Ex
introduction by Annemartine van Kesteren, artistic director
1.10 p.m.
announcement of the nominees by Peter van Ingen, chairman of nomination committee
1.20 p.m.
opening of the exhibition by the Mayor of Rotterdam, Ahmed Aboutaleb
4.00 p.m.

For more information about previous Rotterdam Design Prize competitions: The 2009 Rotterdam Design Prize is an initiative of the Designprijs Rotterdam Foundation and is generously supported by Rotterdam City Council Art and Culture Department, the Stichting Bevordering van Volkskracht and the Stokroos Foundation.