Relaunch of the Rotterdam Design Prize with new nominations procedure

Press release

26 November 2011 - 12 February 2012

Relaunch of the Rotterdam Design Prize with new nominations procedure
Which Dutch designers, practices, clients or creative entrepreneurs have made an important contribution to the development of Dutch design and the international design discourse over the past two years? And which designs or design visions have been decisive in this respect? Over the next few months, five scouts – Aziz Bekkaoui, Sophie Krier, Matthijs van Dijk, Ginette Blom and Joost Grootens – will be surveying the Dutch design world for the answers to these questions. The results will be displayed in a major design exhibition this autumn.
The ‘king of design prizes’

This year sees the eleventh edition of the Rotterdam Design Prize, the ‘king of Dutch design prizes’, which was founded in 1993 with the aim of stimulating Dutch design. The biennial prize is the only design prize that represents all design disciplines. The nominated designs will be exhibited in Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam from 26 November.
The prize stands for quality and originality coupled with an outspoken artistic vision in relation to relevant international social developments. The fifteen nominations by these five notable figures from the design profession will make it clear that opinions about quality are as varied as the discipline itself.
Five scouts

The Rotterdam Design Prize is introducing a new nominations procedure for the 2011 edition.
At the end of August five prominent design experts will each present three nominations to the committee of the Rotterdam Design Prize. The team of scouts comprises the fashion designer/artist, Aziz Bekkaoui; designer and critic, Sophie Krier; industrial designer and professor at the Delft University of Technology, Matthijs van Dijk; designer for the public realm, lecturer and writer, Ginette Blom; and graphic designer, head of the Information Design MA programme at the Design Academy Eindhoven and winner of the Rotterdam Design Prize 2009, Joost Grootens. The scouts will be supported by anchormen in the various design fields. These ‘tips’ will be publicised each week from mid-May on the new website of the Rotterdam Design Prize. Unlike previous editions, designers will not be asked to submit work themselves. The artistic director of the design prize, Joanna van der Zanden, together with Premsela Dutch Platform for Design and Fashion and Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, hopes that this change to the procedure will help to increase the discourse around the prize.
Exhibition, public prize and jury

The announcement of the fifteen nominees and their work will take place during the opening of the exhibition at Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen on 26 November 2011. From then on the public can also vote for their favourite design in the public prize organised by Premsela Dutch Platform for Design and Fashion. The winner will be selected by an international jury in a debate that will coincide with Object Rotterdam and Art Rotterdam around 9 February 2012. The exhibition will close on 12 February 2012.

The Rotterdam Design Prize 2011 is an initiative of the Rotterdam Design Prize Foundation and is made possible by the Municipality of Rotterdam, Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and Premsela Dutch Platform for Design and Fashion.