Appointment Artistic Director Rotterdam Design Prize 2011

It has just been announced that Joanna van der Zanden will serve as Artistic Director for the Rotterdam Design Prize 2011. The Board of the Rotterdam Design Prize, Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen and Premsela, Dutch Platform for Design and Fashion, are looking forward to a fruitful collaboration. Next year’s competition for this prestigious award marks the 11th edition. The shortlisted entries will be presented in a major design exhibition at Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in the autumn of 2011.

Joanna van der Zanden (b. 1966) will assume responsibility for the artistic oversight of the Rotterdam Design Prize from January 2011. Van der Zanden is a curator and creative adviser for cross-disciplinary design projects. Her ‘Tag! Base! Hide and Seek’ exhibition is currently on show at the ‘Znaki Czasu’ Centre of Contemporary Art in Poland.
Van der Zanden is also an adviser on the visual arts, design and photography for the Amsterdam Fund for the Arts. She frequently lectures on and facilitates workshops about social design and curatorship at various academies in the Netherlands, including the ArtEZ Institute of the Arts in Arnhem, and abroad.
From 2006 to 2009 Joanna van der Zanden served as the artistic director of Platform21 in Amsterdam. With projects such as ‘Me and My Character’, ‘Hacking Ikea’ and ‘Repairing’, Van der Zanden managed to reach a broad audience and attract international attention, propelling quotidian themes onto the design agenda. Her book Curatorial Cooking – The Design Practice of Platform21 is soon to be published by Premsela.

National prize
The Rotterdam Design Prize is a biennial national prize that draws attention to the shared qualities of Dutch design and stimulates the design debate in the Netherlands. In 2011 the competition is being held for the 11th time. The shortlisted entries will be presented in a large-scale exhibition in the autumn.

Previous winners
The Rotterdam Design Prize was awarded annually from 1993, and has been awarded every two years since 1997. The winners of the three most recent editions were Studio Joost Grootens (2009), Thonik (2007) and Hella Jongerius (2003).

For further information about earlier editions of the Rotterdam Design Prize, visit: The Rotterdam Design Prize 2011 is an initiative of the Rotterdam Design Prize Foundation and enjoys the support of the City of Rotterdam, Premsela and Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen.